creativity

First Attempt at Homemade Tomato Basil Pasta Sauce

Disclaimer: I am not a chef. This is for informational purposes only and not culinary, medical, or nutritional advice. The author is not liable for any losses or damages related to actions or failure to act related to this article. As always, consult a chef for culinary advice or doctor or nutritionist before starting any new diet.

I love pasta, especially with the creamy Alfredo and garlic sauces. Yum! My mouth is watering already. So why did I decide to make this tomato sauce and not a creamy one? Well, because we had a whole bunch of tomatoes from Costco that needed to be eaten. So red tomato sauce it is.

Why Homemade Tomato Basil Pasta Sauce?

I figured I’d try to make a homemade sauce because we had the tomatoes and I’ve been really interested in doing (mostly) everything homemade. Now days we just don’t know what’s in our food (especially the pre made and processed ones). Take for example the ingredient natural flavor/flavoring. What is that exactly? Why not just list the ingredients used for the flavoring?

This is from one of the files I found when I searched “ingredient natural flavors” on the FDA (U.S. Food and Drug Administration) website.

(3) The term natural flavor or natural flavoring means the essential oil, oleoresin, essence or extractive, protein hydrolysate, distillate, or any product of roasting, heating or enzymolysis, which contains the flavoring constituents derived from a spice, fruit or fruit juice, vegetable or vegetable juice, edible yeast, herb, bark, bud, root, leaf or similar plant material, meat, seafood, poultry, eggs, dairy products, or fermentation products thereof, whose significant function in food is flavoring rather than nutritional. Natural flavors include the natural essence or extractives obtained from plants listed in 182.10, 182.20, 182.40, and 182.50 and part 184 of this chapter, and the substances listed in 172.510 of this chapter. (CFR – Code of Federal Regulations Title 21, 2016)

Okay. So I think I get it now. The natural flavor is used to add flavor and not nutrition and because there could be so many ingredients that make up the “natural flavor/flavoring” in the food it’s ok to not have to list all those ingredients used for the flavoring? (Did you click on the links to see all the places you can get ingredients to add flavor?) The list of ingredients on the products would be so long. Who would read it all (especially when you’re trying to rush out the grocery store to cook dinner)? But you know, it would still be nice to know what was used to make that “natural flavor/flavoring”. Maybe they could post the list of all ingredients used on their website for those people who actually want to know what all the ingredients in the food are.

What I did?

I used this recipe (sort of). Why this recipe and not another? I chose this recipe because it was quick (most of the other recipes I saw were double the time and I didn’t have that much time to get dinner ready) and I already had the ingredients (with the exception of the fresh basil which I substituted with dried basil). I used six tomatoes because I only had six. I also chose not to use the 1 tablespoon of flour because I figured I was going to be mixing the pasta into the sauce and didn’t need it. (I don’t know why I’m no chef or great cooker and I probably should be one to follow recipes. I would definitely be the first contestant to be eliminated from the show “Worst Cooks in America”. But oh well.) For protein, I added some plain boiled chicken (I know not real fancy, but I’m working on it).

How it turned out?

It must have turned out okay because Matthew and MJ (and I) had a second plate for dinner. I should note that Matthew usually only has one plate of food, so when I saw him go for that second one I was happy. And MJ usually takes forever to finish her plate of food if she doesn’t like it, but this time she ate it pretty quickly and asked for seconds. We took the leftovers to share with my grandparents for lunch the next day and they said it was good, although hey didn’t eat a lot. (To be fair, they don’t eat a lot and we also had their leftover pizza. We all had some of everything.) Whatever we didn’t eat went with us to my parents house for dinner. My parents had a dinner to go to that night so they just had a sample. They also said it was good. MJ was the one to finish off the rest of the pasta after she had her plate of dinner (we had something else for dinner that night which she ate quite a bit of).

IMG_8003
Penne pasta with tomato basil sauce and chicken. Made by chef 👩🏻‍🍳 me.

I may try this recipe again, but I will probably try to use fresh basil instead of the dried basil I used this time. I’m a little iffy on whether or not I’ll follow this recipe to the “T” though. We will see. I’ll probably blog about that when I do.

What are your favorite tomato pasta sauce recipes you use?

Sources

CFR – Code of Federal Regulations Title 21. (2016, April 1). Retrieved from https://www.accessdata.fda.gov/scripts/cdrh/cfdocs/cfcfr/cfrsearch.cfm?fr=101.22

***Schedule for posts***

I apologize but for now I’m going to be on a three week rotation for my posts until I can get more efficient with my writing and some sort of schedule. My goal is to post a piece in each of my interest areas once a week which that means I’ll be writing three pieces a week. (Yikes it takes me a week to write one piece 😳)

next week (6/5): education post

6/12: health post

6/19: creativity post

6/26: education post

Leave a Reply

